Review: e.l.f. Cream Eyeliner

e.l.f. cream eyeliner in Charcoal

e.l.f. cream eyeliner in Charcoal

Claim: The cream formula creates smooth lines that are defined and precise. Smudge-proof, budge-proof and water-resistant coverage for all day wear to combat against sweat, tears or rain! Achieve thin or bold lines with ease. Slanted Eyeliner Brush included.

Review: Honestly, this shit is the bomb. It’s creamy and thick, making it ideal for beginners or clumsy fools like myself to apply, without the runny mess of liquid liner or consistency problems of cake liner.

It comes in ten colors: olive green, copper, gunmetal, violet, coffee, black, midnight blue, teal, gold, and electric purple. I only have the charcoal but I adore it.

This liner comes with a little slanted brush. The bristles are a very stiff synthetic, and it works ok to apply, but my brush fell apart into two pieces within a few weeks of gentle use so I chucked it and went with mySonia Kashuk bent eyeliner brush. I’ve also used my SK slanted brush, and it applies it just as well.

I prefer to dampen my brush before dipping it into the liner, it just seems to apply more smoothly. This is quite thick, so when using a slanted brush it wouldn’t get on the brush by dipping– I had to sort of sweep it on from either flat side of the brush to get it on. But once it was on, application was great. And using an actual eyeliner brush and dipping in normally works beautifully, too.

The charcoal is a medium-dark grey with modest sparkles in it. Coverage is even and long-wearing, yet it comes off easily with makeup remover. It had no odor I can smell.

After spending a bunch on MAC gel liners, I can’t tell you how happy I am to find this cheap little beauty! I will be buying the coffee and midnight liners, and when my violet Fluidline is gone, I’ll replace it with e.l.f.’s violet liner.

Cost: $3.

Repurchase:  Yes.

Awesomesauce, mediocre, or crapola: Awesomesauce!

See what others think of this product: MakeupAlley Review

Leave a Reply

